top of page

Korea smashes USA in Premier 12 final

Kingsley Collins

21 November 2015


South Korea is the inaugural Premier 12 champion team, taking away a massive winning purse and further strengthening its status as one of the leading baseball nations in the world.


While the 8-0 Korean gold medal win was comprehensive, United States was a more than worthy runner-up, especially given the absence of any current 40-man Major League players.


Dispensing with Mexico 11-1 under the mercy rule, tournament favourite Japan took the bronze medal after an equally impressive offensive display, although its opponent would be delighted with having come so far in the series.  



















Congratulations to the South Korean national team! Well done to United States, Japan and Mexico for making the final four and of course to the other eight nations who qualified for the tournament and helped make it such a clear and outstanding success.  


Scroll down for a slide show from the medals round. More images will be added as they come to hand.


Although Australia was an observer to this event – which was effectively a cashed-up Baseball World Cup – it generated plenty of interest, especially among those committed to see our nation become a more regular and more dominant participant at international tournaments.


Reaching a massive international audience and broadcast in eight languages – with some significant input by Australian media personnel - the Premier 12 tournament will again be staged in 2019, presumably as a qualifying series for the anticipated return of baseball to the 2020 Olympics.


Even before that, though, there will be a range of senior and under-aged tournaments in which Australia is expected, or at least hoped to be engaged – including the 2017 World Baseball Classic.


To be considered for the 2017 World Baseball Classic, Australia will first need to negotiate its way through a qualifying series to be held in February of 2016. Much more will be said about that event in months to come as our national squad prepares for a tough series against New Zealand, South Africa and Philippines.


Australian Baseball Alumni will aim to provide more information on the WBC Classic Qualifying Series as it becomes available.








Premier 12 Champion:   South Korea

bottom of page